Goodnight, I Love You, Goodbye

Good night, I love you, goodbye.

You didn’t say it before you died.

I tried my best

And then gave up.

I tried my best

But it wasn’t enough.

I wanted to make you happy.

I wanted to make you smile.

I wanted to be your pride and joy.

I had wanted it for a while.

Deep down I know you loved me.

Deep down I know you cared.

Deep down I know you remembered

All those wonderful times we shared.

You never said good-bye.

You never said good night.

You never said I love you

Before leaving me that night.

You care about your feelings.

You couldn’t care less about mine.

I love you and I hate you

Both at the same time.

You told me I wasn’t worthy.

You told me I wasn’t right.

But you never said you loved me

Before seeing your last light.

I always hated you for leaving.

I sometimes hated when you’d stay.

But nothing could have prepared me

For that cold, December day.

Good night, I love you, good-bye.

You should have said it before you died.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

