Marriage- Adult Assembly Required

Marriage is not a the kind of gift that comes already assembled, stickers and all. Nope, not even close. In my opinion it does come with almost all the right pieces, although some may not fit how you expected them to.
Adult assembly required… Let’s break that down..
Adult. When you’re not even 21 it is easy to forget that you’re an adult. This adulting stuff takes practice and when you’re new it’s easy to revert back to immature behavior. That immature behavior can wreak havoc on a new marriage. There’s lots of “tit for tat” and unfair expectations. Luckily, if you’re willing to get over yourselves and fight like hell, marriage can help you mature and improve your adulting skills.
Assembly. Yep, one awkward looking, broken piece at a time. Bringing two people together to form one can seem impossible. Especially when you’re annoying habit pieces finally see daylight. The best thing to do, in my opinion, is to remember that God designed your pieces to fit perfectly and with time, dedication, a little compromise and a whole lot of patience they will.
Required. Again, I say REQUIRED! A happy marriage is not just going to happen. Y’all have to MAKE it happen. I’ve heard people say, “It’s just too much work.” Well, honey, anything worth having is! For me, there is nothing more precious than my marriage and I want it to be happy. So we keep at it.. Even on days when his breathing pisses me off or the way I hold the steering wheel irritates the snit out of him. We work past it. Because we love one another, even when we don’t want to.
As far as I can tell, this unassembled gift from God will never be finished because pieces are being added and removed daily. But you can bet we’ll keep working on it because we vowed to, because we’re so in love its gross and because God custom made him for me and I for him.
Yes, it’s hard but it is so worth it!

**I am not a marriage expert in any way, shape or form and my marriage is far from perfect. We have come a long way in 6 years and I’m proud of that. This is just me sharing what I’ve learned so far.**
image

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

